Azure Development Virtual Machines


So I tried the new virtual machines on Azure for Visual Studio.  I’ve always dreamed of using a vm to do my development on, but never really trusted it because Visual Studio (VS) is such a performance hog.  Well, here are my results.  I downloaded “ImageResizer” from Codeplex, a popular C# program, and then built it on my local machine and the Visual Studio VM.  My local machine runs 64-bit Win 8.1 Pro with a Intel i5 4670K CPU @ 3.4 GHz and 8 GB of RAM.  It is also on VS Ultimate 2012.  The Azure VM has a AMD Opteron Processor 4171 HE at 2.10 GHz and 3.5 GB of RAM on 64-bit Windows Server 2012 R2 Datacenter.  It is running VS Pro 14 CTP (the latest and greatest).

Now, the results.

My local machine built it in ~1.1 seconds.  

The VM built it in ~3.1 seconds.

A factor of 3.  Not great, but not that bad either.  I could see myself doing it, maybe….  lots of advantages (clean machine, always running the latest and greatest, etc.).  But it still feels like it’s on the cusp of prime time.

About Leonard Woody
Software Engineer

Leave a Reply

